Skip to content

Canning Season is Coming!

May 12, 2013

Image

In April, I got some grapefruits from my grandparents while visiting them in AZ for NIEES. So far, I have made grapefruit in ginger mint syrup (shown above) and grapefruit jam. Unfortunately, supremeing grapefruit is extremely difficult (so I got Caitlin to do it for me) and I am still not great at jam … so I’m not optimistic. We will be testing out the jam tomorrow. I have a feeling it will overset and become more candy than jam because I may have cooked it too long. Clearly, I need to invest in a candy thermometer. I’m still planning to make a citrus marmalade … so maybe that will go better?

In the meantime, I am going through my cookbooks and highlighting recipes to try this year. My goal for this summer is to figure out how to make jam.

To Make:

  • Raspberry Jam
  • Strawberry Jam
  • Honey Lemon Apple Jam
  • Pickled Brussels Sprouts
  • Marinara Sauce
  • Sweet Pumpkin Pickles
  • Pepper Jelly
  • Watermelon Jelly

In addition to old favorites like brandied peaches, maple bourbon pickles, nectarine-lime jam, dilly beans, salsa, and spicy pickled squash.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

