Skip to content

An Avalanche of Vegetables

July 5, 2012

I’m so impressed by how much better I eat with a CSA. Typically, I find all the choices in the produce section of the grocery store overwhelming so I try to buy whatever is on sale and/or revert to my default of peppers and onions. That gets old pretty fast.

However, inspired by the plentiful produce in my possession, I’ve invited a friend over to make spanakopita, cooked easy Indian food (as in … I heated sauteed zucchini and roasted cauliflower with a jar of Indian sauce), and managed to actually get around to making that garlic scape pesto which is now chilling in the freezer.

My pickles turned out great! I brought them to a 4th of July BBQ and got lots of compliments. I only opened the jar of pickles that used the pickling spice, but they totally tasted exactly like pickles! I had never actually tasted pickled beets before, so I was surprised to find that the gingery pickled beets had virtually no vinegar-taste. I only wish they were more gingery!

However, it is another Thursday and another week with double-duty CSA action!

My CSA included blueberries, peaches, yellow summer squash, tomatoes, radishes, green beans, sweet onions, green onions and cabbage. My roommate’s CSA included blueberries, grape tomatoes, peaches, sugar snap peas, lettuce, and a cucumber. I also still have one lingering zucchini, garlic, a head of cabbage and a bunch of swiss chard left from last week! That’s a lot of food to eat and/or preserve!

FRESH EATING

  • Blueberries – on ice cream! in oatmeal! all alone!
  • Sugar Snap Peas – a great snack
  • Salad – have to eat all that lettuce somehow … I can throw in the grape tomatoes and cucumber too.

PRESERVATION PLANS

  • Pickled and Spiced Summer Squash – from The Preservation Kitchen, which I have found useful for finding recipes that include pickled things rather than just how to pickle things – for example, chili that uses the pickled squash!
  • Brandied Peaches – I’m seriously going to make them this time, I have 10 peaches!
  • Sauerkraut – I’m serious. I have two heads of cabbage.
  • Kimchi (cabbage, radishes, onions, scallions, garlic) – I have a recipe from Wild Fermentation for Baechu (Cabbage) Kimchi.
  • Dilly Beans – also from Wild Fermentation

I’ll probably just do a stir fry with whatever is left. This is an ambitious plan since I’m leaving for a bicycle trip from DC->Pittsburgh on Monday! I’ll need to con someone into babysitting my kimchi and sauerkraut while it ferments …

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 02:04

    Nice haul!

    Come and add your link to my CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/05/whats-in-the-box-33/. Hope to see you there 🙂

  2. Stefan permalink
    July 18, 2012 10:04

    Hey, that’s Amy! You’ve probably heard about how she sublet my HS friend Jameson’s room while he was in Austria and lived with Sarah and me in Somerville for a bit.

Leave a Reply

