Skip to content

Pickling Experiments: Choosing Lids

July 1, 2012

I haven’t tasted the gingery pickled beets or cucumber pickles yet (I made them on Tuesday), but I’m going to go ahead and call this first canning experience a success.

I experimented with two different types of lids – the standard metal type and reusable plastic ones. Of the six jars I processed, only one did not seal properly and it used a plastic lid. In retrospect, I think it may be related to the fact that I forgot to follow step 7 … Otherwise, both types of lids worked great. In my mind, the plastic lids are better because they are reusable and won’t ever get gross/rusty. Metal lids cannot be reused because the rubber sealant doesn’t work as well the second time. However, unlike the metal lids, the plastic lids don’t make the characteristic popping noise so you cannot tell right away if it is sealing properly.

I also tried out two different spice combinations on the cucumber pickles. In one jar (which didn’t seal properly, so it’s chilling in the fridge), I used a pickling spice mix from my local food coop. In the other two, I simply used garlic, coriander seeds, cumin seeds, and mustard seeds. I’m planning to bring my pickles to a 4th of July BBQ, so I’ll do the 1 week taste test then. I used a generic pickling recipe from Homesweet Homegrown, which I acquired via a kickstarter project.

As far as social observations, I was really surprised by how few canning supplies were sold by what I consider “hippie” grocery stores. I needed to buy jar pullers and was surprised to find that my local food coop didn’t sell them – apparently they are a seasonal item (and it is not canning season?). Whole Foods was also a no-go. The Market District branch of my local grocery store chain (ok, I guess it’s kind of a generic Whole Foods) was the only store I found that sold any canning supplies at all. I guess it’s not very popular …

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 19:22

    Ahh, but I do think it’s making a comeback!

Leave a Reply

