Skip to content

CSA #2

June 23, 2012

More food to play with! Plus, my roommate is out of town so I’m eating his CSA too! His stash includes lettuce, strawberries, beets, cabbage, garlic scapes, and summer squash.

FRESH EATING

Raspberries (It took me approximately an hour to finish the raspberries after receiving my CSA.)

Tomato, Cucumber, and Mozzarella Salad

Grilled Summer Squash

PRESERVATION PLANS

Pickled Beets

Sauerkraut

Brandied Peaches

Cucumber Pickles

Garlic Scape Pesto

I’ll post updates as I make stuff! I never got around to making the garlic scape pesto or using the broccoli before I left on vacation. So, I just blanched both, tossed them in jars, and froze them. I’m currently experimenting with freezing in jars vs. plastic. So far, +1 for plastic. I already broke the garlic scape jar because I accidentally dropped it. Let me know if you have other ideas for what I should make!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 14:52

    Grilled Peaches are yummy!

Leave a Reply

