Skip to content

Eating My Own Life

January 29, 2011

I think it’s really funny to think about how my eating habits have changed since moving away from home/the dorm. I’m a lot more vegetarian now. I never cook meat – so I only eat meat when I am either on the ship or at a restaurant.

I eat couscous a lot – which my family rarely/never prepares. I first fell in love with couscous during the summer after I graduated high school. I worked for Living Classrooms Foundation as a summer support staff to teach middle schoolers about the Chesapeake Bay ecosystem. I was in charge of prepping lunch and my favorite lunch was couscous served in pita with hummus and vegetables.

I don’t have a microwave in my apartment. So I eat all my leftovers cold. I suppose I always did that – but this means that I never bother getting frozen burritos or other microwave-able dinners. I generally consider this a good thing.

If you look in my fridge, it’s really easy to tell whose side of the fridge is whose. My side is barren. I hardly keep any food in the house – primarily because I leave town a lot, partially because I don’t cook much, and mostly because it’s so easy to go across the street to Safeway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

