Skip to content

Whale Tale

January 2, 2011
tags: ,

I have been at sea a lot since the end of May. This whole time, it has seemed like everyone around me is constantly spotting whales. Most of the time, they are just tiny specs in the distance – which is lame and totally doesn’t count. But today, I legitimately saw a whale for the first time since being out here. We had just finished a station and I was about to head up to breakfast when one of the ABs said “there are whales breaching off the bow” over the squawk box. I rushed up two decks and forward to the bow of the ship to get a good view. At first, I didn’t see anything. I was about to give up and head down when all of a sudden I saw a whale’s tail lift out of the water and splash down. I was so excited, the whale lifted its tail out at least ten more times before I finally got hungry enough to leave. That sighting is now up in my top 5 along with the walrus.

In celebration of the New Year, I also participated in some “light games”. I managed to get covered in raw egg during the egg toss and then soaked in water during the water balloon fight. I really need to do laundry. There were more games after that but I decided to cut my losses and go shower. In any case, I was still awarded a Certificate of Not Losing.

In other news, my hands are gross and covered in rust stains plus my callouses are coming back.

It’s getting close to the end of the cruise and I am getting tired. I’m excited for the transit back to Seattle. I think we will get a lot done, it will be fun and relaxing, and I can catch up on some of my personal projects that I have put on the back burner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

