Skip to content

“Attention On Board. Cake is Being Served in the Building Next Door.”

October 26, 2010

So, I’m staying on the boat these days but we’re just doing day trips so we dock at Pier 91 almost every night. Last night, I walked to the bus stop because I was going to meet up with some friends for dinner. First off, walking to the bus is kind of ridiculous. Since this is also the cruise ship terminal, it does actually have a designated bus stop. However, when there isn’t a cruise ship, they LOCK THE GATE so you can’t go up the stairs to the bus. Ridiculous. Instead, I have to walk across 6 train tracks to get to the bus.

When I got on the bus, this old man smiled at me and so I smiled back to be friendly. We happened to get off the bus at the same stop and were waiting at the intersection to cross the street when he asked me, "so, are you a member of the club?"

It took me a minute to figure out what in the world he was talking about. I had recently learned that there is this sex club in Seattle. It’s called the Center for Sex Positive Culture (http://www.sexpositiveculture.org/). I told one of my friends about it, who figured out that it’s basically across the street from Pier 91. Apparently the closest bus stop from the ship happens to be right in front of it.

"uhhh, no."
"Oh, I thought you might have since you got on the bus right in front of it."
"Oh, no, I got off a boat at the pier."
"Do you know what club I’m talk about?"
"Oh yeah, I know about it."
"Well, obviously I’m a member …"
"I think we can cross the street now."

Awesomely awkward moment.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 09:08

    LOL! I can relate to these types of conversations as I was once stationed in Seattle, (Coast Guard, 1986) and we weren’t always staying in the best of neighborhoods. Just walking to the nearest stores in some locations was an adventure in strange conversations and assumptions.

  2. Kelly permalink
    November 2, 2010 15:57

    haha this is awesome.

Leave a Reply

