Skip to content

Mooooooring

August 28, 2010

I never heard my alarm going off. Instead, my coworker woke me up at 0130, an hour and a half after I was supposed to show up. I guess I haven’t really gotten used to this shift yet …

Yesterday, we saw three sunfish swimming by while we were recovering moorings. At first I thought they were sharks (which is a very common mistake), but on closer examination I realized that they were just weird looking fish.

Recovering the moorings was pretty exciting. My line-handling skills are definitely improving – we were so efficient that we ended up having time to recover three moorings instead of just the scheduled two. When the moorings came up, they were covered in this strange brittle white foam –
which I later found out is aluminum corrosion. They have to pull up the moorings every 1-2 years to download the data and replace components.

Overall, I think moorings may have to be my new favorite deployment – although I have a couple new rust stains on my shirt to show for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

