Skip to content

To Engineer Or Not To Engineer

August 13, 2010

I love engineering … or at least, I think I love engineering. The whole reason I went to engineering school was because I wanted to learn to think like an engineer. People seem to always say that engineers have this specific, systematic method of problem-solving – that being an engineer is really about being a problem-solver. I liked the sound of that.

So, I packed up my bags and went off to engineering school where I learned some stuff. I’m still figuring out everything that I learned. I know random things about coding and thermodynamics and Fourier transforms and RF components. I know how to put stuff together – I learned how to build things (both conceptually and physically). But, there was no magical moment where all of a sudden I became an *engineer*. I just started calling myself one eventually because, hey, why not? Got to start somewhere.

So now, I’m trying to find inspiration. I’m trying to figure out what I care about and what motivates me. And I’m trying to figure it out systematically. Hopefully my engineering education will be good for that much.

I think I’ll start by returning to one of my favorite pastimes, making lists. Stay tuned.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    August 13, 2010 21:03

    Hey Casey!

    If you’re serious about grad school in 2011 shoot me an email and I’ll send you the list (you like lists, right?!) of fellowships you should apply for. And you should go to school in Cambridge…and not the UK one!

    hugs,

    Andy

Leave a Reply

