Skip to content

Plus or Minus

August 12, 2010

Minus:
I’m sleeping in the crew’s quarters, so I’m in the bow, two decks above sea level. As it turns out, it’s a really bouncy ride from my bunk when the weather gets rough. I woke up feeling fairly queasy. I dry heaved a bit before heading to the galley for breakfast.

Plus:
There, I was delighted to find bagels and lox! One of my favorite combinations. Ignoring my impending seasickness, I placed two bagels on my plate piled with cream cheese, smoked salmon, onions, and capers. Yum.

Minus:
As soon as I finished eating and started moving to go down a deck, I felt the nausea return. I rushed to the head and puked fish out my nose. Gross. Now I had stomach acid fish smell stuck in my nose.

Plus:
Pizza for lunch! Yum.

Minus:
We drove directly into the waves to get as rough a ride as possible for some filming that the photographers wanted to do. Lame.

Plus:
I learned how to deploy an XBT (it’s a disposable temperature/conductivity probe). As I stood outside letting the line run out, I watched rainbows dance in the salt spray.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelly Canfield permalink
    August 13, 2010 17:15

    hahahah I can’t stop laughing when I imagine fish coming out of your nose

Leave a Reply

