Skip to content

Getting Work Done

July 16, 2010

It’s really fun to see the transition from a scientific cruise to a transit. The deck department is painting the main passage way one half at a time – so walking around the ship is practically a game of hop-scotch as you dodge the wet paint and primer.

I’ve been building a new CTD for the next cruise. I mounted all of the sensors (identifying which ones were broken/out of calibration in the process) and then mounted the sensor assembly into the rosette frame. I spent all afternoon trying to clean up the carousel – at least two hours were spent looking for sacrificial zinc in the ship stores. If a wire shorts while the unit is underwater, corrosion starts to build up incredibly quickly (as I observed on this carousel). Luckily, there are lots of different metals in the CTD assembly (I’m being sarcastic) – so I’ve been putting lots of anti-corrosion goop between the stainless steel screws and aluminum housing.

Tomorrow, I’ll finish up the CTD and perhaps re-terminate one of the sea cables. Woo! I like being able to engross myself in a big project without interruption. Of course, my "big project" of building a CTD would take an experienced person 3 hours instead of 3 days … but I’m learning a lot in the process and taking my time.

I’m also helping one of the science groups finish their data collection – they are doing a beta radiation experiment so I’ve been rotating the samples in their oven every 11 hours. Now I can pretend I’m a certified radiation technician!

Unfortunately, I haven’t slept well at all since I switched back to sleeping at night. It really sucks to move your sleep schedule by 12 hours. I’m hoping the strong desire to fall asleep as soon as I sit-down in the mid-afternoon will go away. In the meantime – I keep waking up at 5am and having a terrible time getting back to sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

