Skip to content

Without Darkness

July 7, 2010

Tonight, we caught super cute pelagic snails in the bongo nets called limacina. Unfortunately, they’re actually trying to catch krill, which we didn’t catch any of.

I’m actually really glad that I’m on the night shift now – my watch has changed to 1800-0600 so I experience more of the day now and I can compare the differences. As it turns out, all of the more experienced scientists seem to work at night lending to a smoother operation. Also, some of the scientists who work during the day are annoying. Alas, if only I could go back to the 2000-0800 shift.

We’re now north of 62 degrees and it never gets completely dark. I took this photo at 4am – it never got darker than this:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

