Skip to content

It Always Comes Down to the Weather

July 6, 2010

The 4th ended up being more fun than I expected. When I woke up, I had missed the ship t-shirt sale – but was just in time for the BBQ. I thought the weather was really nice, but I guess no one else did so we still all ate up in the mess deck. After dinner, we had a “Pyrotechnic Demo” in which we set off all of the expired flares on board. There were two kinds – one for signalling from the ship which shoot up into the air and another for signalling from the life raft which is more akin to a sparkler (except super bright). I set off one of the sparkler kinds (there’s a picture of me here:
http://bohemianadventures.blogspot.com/2010/07/bering-sea-day-19-4th-of-july.html).

We’ve had gorgeous weather the last couple days. The sun has peaked out from behind the clouds enough for people to wear sunglasses. The sea has been amazingly calm. We even saw some blue sky in between the fog! Of course, as the fog has started to lift, the winds have been rushing in to take their place. So now the seas are starting to get rough again and it’s super cold at night with 30kts of wind blasting my face. I really should have brought a scarf.

In any case, I feel like this job has given me the time and space to really figure out what I want to do with my life. I felt really disoriented after graduating – like a bird that had been dropped out of the nest and expected to figure out how to fly on the way down. Now I realize that I like to be busy – this life is too slow. I want to solve big problems like “what’s next for the energy industry” and save the world. I don’t feel like I’m doing anything particularly important here – I guess I’m sort of helping other people do something important to figure out the impact of early ice melt on Bering Sea biology …

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

