Skip to content

Another Day

June 20, 2010

The days have been going by slowly and quickly at the same time. Every time I crawl back into my bunk I think, “Wow! I can’t believe I have already finished another watch!” But at 4am when I am trying to stay awake in the computer lab, time couldn’t be going by any slower.

I saw a fur seal today! Just in case you wanted to know, seals swimming next to the ship are 2892187314 times cuter than dolphins. I now know this for a fact. Unfortunately, I was in the middle of deploying the CTD, so I didn’t get to snap a picture. Hopefully there will be more.

There are no stars in the sky (it’s always cloudy), but there are stars in my bunk! Between the glow-in-the-dark stars on the ceiling and my glow-in-the-dark space sheets, I basically feel like an astronaut as I fall asleep (at 10am).

Being here makes me want to go to grad school. Maybe I should study tidal power or offshore wind or ocean engineering or naval architecture or something.

My watch kind of sucks. It really awkwardly conflicts with meals so I only eat one big meal a day and then snack a lot. There are a lot of snacks on board (candy, soda, chips) – but I am trying to stick to English muffins and chunky peanut butter.

I have also decided that I dislike working with smokers. It used to never bother me to hang around people who smoked – mostly because it wasn’t very often. But now that I am spending 9 hours a day with someone who smokes all the freaking time, it’s starting to bother me. It’s so gross.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

