Skip to content

Step One: Say Hello

May 30, 2010
tags:

I spent the last two days at the university filling out paperwork and getting a vague sense of what I will be doing. As far as I can tell, I’m responsible for assisting with deployments, maintaining the computer network, and generally doing whatever the scientists need. However, for this first cruise, I’ll just be trying to document this new swath bathymetry system as well as possible.
Now, I’m on an airplane headed to Honolulu. I already took a one hour nap and played spider solitaire until I got bored of it. There’s no inflight entertainment, so I figured I may as well update my blog (aka write something to post later). I never actually tested the email update thing … so this will be evidence that it worked.
On the way to the airport, my Aunt was asking if I was nervous about anything in particular. Mostly, I’m worried that my seasickness medication will either not work well enough or work too well (drowsiness is a side effect). I also hate taking medication in general, so I just get generally anxious about it.
I’m sure that everyone on the ship will be nice/friendly. Besides, one of my friends from school will be on the same ship – so there will be at least one familiar face. I’m almost more excited for the next cruise on the university research vessel – then I’ll finally get to meet all of the people that I’ve been emailing all this time.
I also hope I have enough warm clothes for the Bering Sea. Everyone I talked to at the university asked me if I had enough warm clothes. Hopefully I’ll be able to figure that out on this first cruise and buy whatever else I need in Dutch Harbor without going broke.
I keep freaking out about all of this stuff that I forgot to bring – but I can’t check if I actually forgot it without completely unpacking everything. So I’ll just have to wait until I get to the ship.
In any case, I think the main way to avoid getting too nervous is to avoid thinking about it too much. So I’m going to go back to playing Spider Solitare. One of these days, I’m going to win with four suits. After all, it’s the small victories that make your day great.

11:51am, 5/28/10

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

