Skip to content

Whip It was Great!

October 12, 2009
tags:

So, I saw Whip It last night and I loved it! I love sports movies and I love roller derby, so I was really excited for this to come out. Luckily, it completely lived up to my expectations.

Reasons I loved this movie:

  • the characters weren’t completely catty/bitchy (as women are often characterized in movies) – they all cared about each other
  • the ending is awesome
  • roller derby is just sweet
  • Alia Shawkat is totally hot

I only wish that there had been a lesbian plot line. There was the barest of subtext, but it was pretty weak. I think there are enough lesbians in roller derby to warrant a story line.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

