Skip to content

Motivation

July 28, 2009

I am about to embark on a semester+ long project researching the intersections of feminism and engineering. As someone with a strong interest on both sides, I think it will be interesting to pull those two identities together.

“You never know if you’ll have an interest in this until you try it,” Jain said. “And if you decide (not to go into engineering), you’ll have a reason for rejecting it, too.” – via TARGET article

Indeed. That quote is from a young woman mentor for high school girls at an engineering summer camp. I often wonder what I would have majored in if both of my parent’s didn’t have engineering degrees – if no one had encouraged me to study engineering because “it will only open doors, not close them” – if I had given up when I was a first year and it all seemed too hard. I hope I would have been a geologist. Geologists are cool.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

